Big Ego Energy: On the Relationship Between Anger, Autonomy, and Authority

Faithe J Day
10 min readJan 2, 2024
Photo by Deon Black on Unsplash

I enjoy spending a lot of my free time dancing, and in the year 2023, one of the most popular songs for choreography was “Big Energy” by Latto. I have learned so many “boom-kacks” to this song that I have lost count. Due to the number of times I have listened to it, I have also been able to analyze the lyrics in great depth. Consequently, I have concluded that the song provides exciting insights into the relationship between emotions and ego.

If you are not familiar with the song, “Big Energy” is a more radio-friendly reference to the term “Big Dick Energy,” or BDE for short. In the song, we hear Latto rapping (literally and figuratively) to a guy she is interested in by recognizing that he has this energy and how it matches hers. So, from the lyrics, we can see that Big Dick Energy isn’t just about the physical body but a metaphor for an idealized masculinity that relies on phallic symbolism. In this sense, we can also see BDE related to the concept of the ego.

--

--

Faithe J Day

Writer, Creator, and Educator. Millennial and Internet Expert. Learn more at https://fjday.com