Gone Girl-Boss: Or The TikTok Era of Regressive Feminism

Faithe J Day
10 min readJan 24, 2022
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

Although I am not as old as I would like to be, the fact of the matter is that I am significantly older than many of the people I watch talk about feminism online. Especially when I watch young people talk about feminism, there is always a bit of seniority and sarcasm that I feel hearing some of the less hot takes on the market. One of the many trends that has caught my eye, primarily because it has been repeated in multiple memes and videos online, is one in which individuals (usually young women) state that the only reason they are pursuing education past college is for the purpose of finding a husband.

This concept is always proposed as a grand scheme or some type of Jedi mind trick route to female empowerment that no one could have ever imagined before this period in time. And while these videos are obviously joking in nature, when you read the comments below the content there are less jokes and more individuals discussing their very real experiences or plans to pursue medical school, law school, and even the STEM fields as a stepping stone towards finding a husband who makes enough money so that they do not have to build a traditional career.

Now, as I noted, many of the people making these videos are young, college-aged women (18–24), so it is possible they are not aware of the history of this particular “scheme”…

--

--

Faithe J Day

Writer, Creator, and Educator. Millennial and Internet Expert. Learn more at https://fjday.com