Will the Real NPCs Please Stand Up?

Faithe J Day
8 min readJul 16, 2023
Photo by Compare Fibre on Unsplash

Yesterday morning I took a walk with Patti Labelle and an evening stroll with Georgia Ann and Rick Fox. Then, I watched a simulation of Facetime with my favorite influencer (Malik) before shopping with my fellow “Trader Hoes” (Steezus and Lavelle) at Trader Joe’s. All of these things happened from the comfort of my iPhone. Because one of my favorite past-times is watching videos and listening to audio of what other people do in their homes. How other people decorate, how they clean, how they work, walk, and watch tv.

Humans, they’re just like me, is what I think.

In these mundane moments, life becomes an art form, and every person we see online becomes the artist detailing what it looks like to live well and perform human-beingness with creativity and comedy. Most of these people have become so good at performing life for the entertainment of others that we wish to imitate them. We work to pretend that our lives are like theirs. We consume the content they produce and buy the things they buy. We clap for their accomplishments and cry at their failures, and through them, we can clap and cry for…

--

--

Faithe J Day

Writer, Creator, and Educator. Millennial and Internet Expert. Learn more at https://fjday.com